Please note that the content on this website is being progressively updated following the issuing of Administrative Arrangements Orders on 23 June, 2022.


Council for the Order of Australia

Prime Minister and Cabinet
The Council, is an independent body, and the Constitution of the Order of Australia prescribes that the Council has 19 members including representatives of each state and territory, 3 officio members and eight community members appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister, by the Governor-General. The Council considers nominations from the public for appointments and awards in the General Division of the Order of Australia and makes recommendations to the Governor-General. The Order of Australia is the pre-eminent means of recognising outstanding achievement and contribution by Australians.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Government House

Last updated: