Australian Competition Tribunal

The Tribunal is an independent statutory tribunal that hears applications for the authorisation of company mergers and acquisitions which would otherwise be prohibited under the Competition and Consumer Act 2010. The Tribunal also considers appeals on certain decisions of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC), including decisions to grant or refuse merger clearances, reviews of decisions under Part IIIA of the Act (national access regime), and other authorisation decisions made by the ACCC. The Tribunal includes a President, and as many deputy presidents and other members as appointed by the Governor-General. The Tribunal does not publish or table an annual report but it is noted in the Federal Court of Australia Annual Report. The Federal Court of Australia provides secretariat support.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (The Tribunal was created in 1966 as the Trade Practices Tribunal and was renamed the Australian Competition Tribunal in 1995)

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 5 Roma Mitchell Commonwealth Law Courts Building
    Adelaide SA

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Justice The Hon. Michael O'Bryan 26 March 2023 25 March 2028
Deputy Chair VACANT
Deputy Chair Justice The Hon. John Halley 24 March 2023 23 March 2028
Deputy Chair The Hon Justice Sarah Derrington AM 24 March 2023 23 March 2028
Deputy Chair The Hon Justice Kylie Downes 24 March 2023 23 March 2028
Deputy Chair Justice The Hon. Mark Moshinsky 24 March 2023 23 March 2028
Member Ms. Diana Eilert 12 December 2019 11 December 2024
Member Dr. Jill Walker 30 March 2020 29 March 2025
Member Mr. Ray Steinwall 1 April 2023 31 March 2028
Last updated: