Australian Maritime Safety Authority (Board)

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) is a statutory authority established under the Australian Maritime Safety Authority Act 1990. It is a corporate Commonwealth entity under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013. AMSA is the national regulator for domestic commercial vessels and the national safety entity responsible for maritime safety, protection of the marine environment and maritime and aviation search and rescue services. AMSA represents the Australian Government at the International Maritime Organization (IMO) and other international forums in the development, implementation and enforcement of international standards including those governing ship safety and marine environment protection.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Maritime Safety Authority Act 1990, section 5

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    82 Northbourne Avenue
    Braddon ACT 2612

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Capt. Jeanine Drummond 3 July 2023 2 July 2027
Deputy Chair Ms. Jennifer Clark 10 February 2020 9 February 2025
Member Ms. Elizabeth Montano 16 December 2021 16 December 2024
Member Mr. Daryl Quinlivan 16 December 2021 16 December 2024
Member Mr. Peter Toohey 16 December 2021 16 December 2024
Member Michelle Taylor 3 July 2023 2 July 2028
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Mr. Mick Kinley 1 July 2020 30 June 2024
Member Mr. Dean Summers 3 July 2023 2 July 2028
Member Ms. Cha Jordanoski 18 October 2023 Determined by the appointer
Last updated: