Following the 2022 Federal Election outcome an interim Ministry has now been sworn in and the caretaker period has ceased. Further updates to this website will be made in due course.


Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (Board)

Industry, Science, Energy and Resources
CSIRO is an Australian Government statutory authority constituted and operating under the provisions of the Science and Industry Research Act 1949. CSIRO's primary functions under the Act are to carry out scientific research to benefit Australian industry and the community, and to contribute to the achievement of national objectives.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Science and Industrial Research Act 1949

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Discovery Centre
    Black Mountain ACT 2601

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Kathryn Fagg 14 October 2021 13 October 2026
Deputy Chair Mr. David Knox 14 October 2021 13 October 2025
Other Dr. Larry Marshall 1 July 2020 30 June 2023
Member Mr. Drew Clarke AO, PSM, FTSE 24 August 2017 23 August 2022
Member Prof. Michelle Simmons AO 17 September 2020 16 September 2025
Member Prof. Edwina Cornish AO 26 November 2020 25 November 2023
Member Prof. Tanya Monro 25 February 2021 24 February 2024
Member Dr. Michele Allan 5 May 2019 4 May 2024
Member The Hon Ian Macfarlane 14 October 2021 13 October 2024
Last updated: