Please note that the content on this website is being progressively updated following the issuing of Administrative Arrangements Orders on 23 June, 2022.


Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission

Veterans' Affairs (part of the Defence Portfolio)
The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission (MRCC) administers benefits under the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 and Part XI of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (SRCA). The MRCC functions are: - to make determinations relating to the acceptance of liability for service related conditions, the payment of compensation, and the provision of treatment and rehabilitation; - to minimise the duration and severity of service related conditions and promoting the return to suitable work; - to promote the research into the health of members and former members, the prevention of injury and disease and rehabilitation; - to provide advice to the ministers and departmental secretaries of Veterans' Affairs and Defence, the Chief of the Defence Force and the Service Chiefs, either on request or on its own initiative; and - to undertake other functions that may be conferred on it. There are six part-time members, comprising the President of the Repatriation Commission, the Deputy President of the Repatriation Commission, the Repatriation Commissioner, a person nominated by the Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relationships, and two persons nominated by the Minister for Defence. The Commission is assisted by staff made available by the Secretary of the Department.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Cnr of Bunda and Genge Streets
    Canberra City ACT 2601

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Liz Cosson AM CSC 19 May 2018 18 May 2023
Member Mr. Donald Spinks AM 1 July 2019 30 June 2024
Member MAJGEN Wade Stothart DSC AM CSC 13 December 2021 12 December 2026
Member Mr. Aaron Hughes 5 July 2022 4 October 2022
Member Rear Admiral Sarah Sharkey AM CSC 12 December 2019 11 December 2024
Member Ms. Kate Pope PSM 6 August 2020 5 August 2025
Member Ms. Gwen Cherne 2 March 2021 5 August 2025
Last updated: