Prime Minister and Cabinet
The National Emergency Medal is administered by the Australian Honours and Awards Secretariat at Government House and provides secretariat support to the National Emergency Medal Committee. The independent Committee is made up of five members, including two ex-officio members appointed by the Minister with responsibility for the Australian honours system (currently the Prime Minister), and three community members appointed on the Minister's advice by the Governor-General. National Emergency Medal is awarded to persons who rendered sustained service during specified dates in specified places in response to nationally-significant emergencies within Australia; or to other persons who rendered significant service in response to such emergencies. Medals have been awarded for service performed during the Victorian bushfires in 2009, the Queensland floods in 2010-11 and during Cyclone Yasi. The Governor-General may approve an award for significant service on recommendation of the Committee.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    National Emergency Medal Regulations 2011, Regulation 9

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    1 October 2011

Last updated: