Australian Bravery Decorations Council

Prime Minister and Cabinet
The Council, which was established by letters patent, considers nominations from members of the public or organisations for national recognition of acts of bravery and makes recommendations for awards directly to the Governor-General for approval and announcement. There are: - 4 community members (1 of whom is the Chair); - State and Territory government members; and 2 ex officio members being the Secretary of the Department of Defence and the Assistant Secretary of the Awards and Culture Branch of the Department. Members are approved by Governor-General on the recommendation of the PM (community members) and State/Territory governments.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    F. Non-statutory advisory structure

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    C. Secondary non-statutory structure

  • Creation Date

Last updated: