Australian Rail Track Corporation Limited (Board)

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The Australian Rail Track Corporation Limited (ARTC) was created after the Commonwealth and State Governments agreed in 1997 to the formation of a 'one-stop shop" for all rail operators seeking access to the National interstate rail network. ARTC currently has responsibility for the management of over 8,500 route kilometres of standard gauge interstate track in South Australia, Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland and New South Wales. The company is responsible for delivering the Melbourne to Brisbane Inland Rail project. ARTC also manages the Hunter Valley coal rail network, and a range of regional rail links, in various state jurisdictions. Over these corridors, ARTC is responsible for: - selling access to train operators - the development of new business - capital investment in the corridors - management of the network - the management of infrastructure maintenance

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under


  • Established By/Under More info

    Commonwealth company under the Corporations Act 2001

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Sir Donald Bradman Drive Passenger Rail Terminal Road
    Mile End SA 5031

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Peter Duncan 31 January 2023 30 January 2026
Director/Non-Executive Director Ms. Rosheen Garnon 28 February 2022 27 February 2025
Director/Non-Executive Director Ms. Keira Brennan 30 March 2022 29 March 2025
Director/Non-Executive Director The Hon Ms. Katrina Hodgkinson 30 March 2022 29 March 2025
Director/Non-Executive Director Mr. Ryan Arrold 30 March 2022 29 March 2025
Director/Non-Executive Director Dr. Collette Burke 30 January 2023 29 January 2026
Director/Non-Executive Director VACANT
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Mr. Wayne Johnson 13 December 2023 12 December 2028
Last updated: