Australian National Maritime Museum (Board)

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The Australian National Maritime Museum's (ANMM) role is to interpret, preserve and promote Australia's maritime heritage and culture. It fulfils this by undertaking research, acquisitions, managing its collections and heritage vessels and providing access through public programs and exhibitions. The ANMM's strategic direction is to explore and manage maritime heritage in ways that enlighten, inspire and delight people everywhere by: - Developing and managing the National Maritime Collection through research, acquisition, conservation, and interpretation; - Exhibiting the National Maritime Collection and other historical material; - Presenting maritime heritage information through public and learning programs, events, the internet and publications; and - Expanding sponsorship, marketing and other commercial revenue sources.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian National Maritime Museum Act 1990

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Wharf 7, 58 Pirrama Road
    PYRMONT NSW 2009

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. John Mullen AM 29 September 2022 28 May 2025
Member Mr. John Longley 6 May 2022 5 May 2025
Member Ms. Alison Page 29 May 2023 28 March 2026
Director/Non-Executive Director Ms. Daryl Karp AM 17 June 2022 16 June 2027
Member Prof. Sarah Derrington AM 8 March 2022 7 December 2024
Member Ms. Gisele Kapterian 10 April 2022 9 April 2025
Member RADM Christopher Smith 17 December 2022 Determined by the appointer
Member The Hon. Ian Campbell 18 February 2021 17 February 2024
Member Mr. Nyunggai Warren Stephen Mundine AO 29 April 2021 28 April 2024
Member Ms. Judy Potter 13 May 2021 12 May 2024
Member Mrs. Arlene Tansey 30 September 2021 29 September 2024
Last updated: