Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
The Australian Government makes payments to eligible Australian creators and publishers under the Public and Educational Lending Right (PLR and ELR) programs as recompense for the free multiple use of their books in public and educational lending libraries. The Committee has the power to determine the eligibility of applicants under both the PLR and ELR programs and to approve payments under the PLR program. The Department of Communications and the Arts is responsible for day-to-day management of the programs. The Committee may also provide advice to the Minister for the Arts regarding the programs.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Public Lending Right Act 1985

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    1 July 1987

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Evelyn (Eve) Woodberry 23 May 2017 22 May 2020
Member Ms. Libby Cass 21 August 2019 Determined by the appointer
Member Ms. Kristi Haipola 14 May 2015 Determined by the appointer
Member Mr. Steven Carroll 22 March 2018 21 March 2021
Member Dr. Lisa Gorton 24 April 2017 23 April 2020
Member Ms. Margaret Joan Allen 24 April 2017 23 April 2020
Member Mr. Michael Willoughby Bollen 22 March 2018 21 March 2021
Last updated: