Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
The Australian National Maritime Museum's (ANMM) role is to interpret, preserve and promote Australia's maritime heritage and culture. It fulfils this by undertaking research, acquisitions, managing its collections and heritage vessels and providing access through public programs and exhibitions. The ANMM's strategic direction is to explore and manage maritime heritage in ways that enlighten, inspire and delight people everywhere by: - Developing and managing the National Maritime Collection through research, acquisition, conservation, and interpretation; - Exhibiting the National Maritime Collection and other historical material; - Presenting maritime heritage information through public and learning programs, events, the internet and publications; and - Expanding sponsorship, marketing and other commercial revenue sources.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian National Maritime Museum Act 1990

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

    20 December 1990

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. John Mullen AM 18 August 2019 17 August 2022
Member Mr. Nyunggai Warren Stephen Mundine AO 29 April 2021 28 April 2024
Member Rear Admiral Mark Hammond RAN 17 November 2020 Determined by the appointer
Member VACANT    
Member The Hon. Ian Campbell 18 February 2021 17 February 2024
Member Mr. John Longley 6 May 2019 5 May 2022
Member Mr. Stephen Coutts 29 May 2020 28 May 2023
Director/Non-Executive Director Mr. Kevin Sumption PSM 16 February 2017 15 February 2022
Member Prof. Sarah Derrington 8 March 2019 7 March 2022
Member Ms. Judy Potter 13 May 2021 12 May 2024
Member Ms. Alison Page 29 May 2020 28 May 2023
Member Dr. Ian Watt AO 22 March 2019 21 March 2022
Last updated: