Following the 2022 Federal Election outcome an interim Ministry has now been sworn in and the caretaker period has ceased. Further updates to this website will be made in due course.


Australian Renewable Energy Agency (Board)

Industry, Science, Energy and Resources
The Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) was established by the Australian Government  to improve the competitiveness of renewable energy technologies and increase the supply of renewable energy in Australia. 

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Renewable Energy Agency Act 2011 and Australian Renewable Energy Agency (Consequential Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Act 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    2 Phillip Law Street
    Canberra City ACT 2601

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Justin Punch 18 July 2020 17 July 2022
Other Mr. David Fredericks PSM 11 November 2019 Determined by the appointer
Member Mr. Justin Butcher 23 July 2020 22 July 2022
Member Mr. John Hirjee 23 July 2020 22 July 2022
Member Ms. Anna Matysek 23 July 2020 22 July 2022
Member Ms. Stephanie Unwin 18 July 2021 17 July 2023
Member Mr. Stephen McIntosh 18 July 2021 17 July 2023
Last updated: