Independent Health and Aged Care Pricing Authority (Board)

Health and Aged Care
The Independent Health and Aged Care Pricing Authority (IHACPA) was established to oversee significant reforms to improve Australian public hospitals. One of these significant reforms is the implementation of National Activity Based Funding (ABF) for Australian public hospitals. The implementation of ABF provides incentives for efficiency, and increases transparency in the delivery and funding of public hospital services across Australia. The IHACPA's primary function is to calculate and deliver an annual National Efficient Price (NEP). The NEP is a major determinant of the level of Australian Government funding for public hospital services, and provides a price signal or benchmark for the efficient cost of providing public hospital services. The Authority undertakes several major areas of work designed to inform the annual determination of the NEP, including ongoing consultation with all Australian health departments, expert advisory committees, and key stakeholders. The IHACPA works in partnership with the National Health Performance Authority (NHPA) and the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care to ensure that pricing, quality, and performance measures for public hospitals are complementary, and facilitate a strong national framework for the delivery of public hospital services.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    National Health Reform Act 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 12, 1 Oxford Street
    Darlinghurst NSW 2000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. David Tune AO PSM 1 February 2022 31 January 2027
Deputy Chair Ms. Jennifer Williams 1 February 2020 31 January 2025
Deputy Chair Ms. Prudence Ford 4 February 2023 31 March 2023
Member Ms. Jane Hall 1 February 2020 31 January 2025
Member Dr. Kate Taylor 6 October 2022 31 March 2023
Member Jennifer Richter 1 February 2020 31 January 2025
Member Dr. Adam Coltzau 9 April 2022 31 March 2027
Member Mr. Glenn Appleyard 9 April 2022 31 March 2027
Last updated: