Pharmaceutical Benefits Remuneration Tribunal

Health and Aged Care
The main functions of the Tribunal are to make a determination to give effect to the terms of agreement between the Government and the Pharmacy Guild in relation to the remuneration that is to be paid to pharmacists for dispensing (supplying) pharmaceutical benefits under the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS); and to perform other functions required by that agreement (currently the Seventh Community Pharmacy Agreement (7CPA)). If there is no agreement in place, however, the Tribunal is responsible for determining the manner in which the Commonwealth price for the payment to pharmacists for the supply of pharmaceutical benefits is set. The Chair is appointed by the Governor-General, and four additional members are appointed by the Minister for Health for a period not exceeding three years on a part-time basis. At least one additional member must be a person who has been, but is no longer, engaged either directly or indirectly in community pharmacy. The Minister for Health makes this appointment following consultation with the Pharmacy Guild of Australia.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    National Health Act 1953

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 10, 80 William Street
    East Sydney NSW 2011

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Abbeygail Beaumont 29 May 2021 28 May 2024
Member Prof. Rosalie Viney 27 May 2023 26 May 2026
Member Wendy Phillips 29 May 2021 28 May 2024
Member Dr. Shaun Larkin 29 May 2021 28 May 2024
Last updated: