Please note that the content on this website is being progressively updated following the issuing of Administrative Arrangements Orders on 23 June, 2022.


Safe Work Australia

Employment and Workplace Relations
Safe Work Australia is a tripartite body with the following members: - an independent chair; - members representing the Commonwealth and each state and territory; - members representing the interests of workers; - members representing the interests of employers, and - the Chief Executive Officer. Further information about Safe Work Australia Members can be found under Our Members. Safe Work Australia's was established to lead policy development that improves work health and safety and workers' compensation arrangements across Australia. It performs its functions in accordance with strategic and operational plans agreed annually by the Select Council on Workplace Relations. Safe Work Australia began operating as an independent Australian Government statutory agency on 1 November 2009. It is jointly funded by the Commonwealth, state and territory governments through an Intergovernmental Agreement. As a national policy body Safe Work Australia does not regulate work health and safety laws. The Commonwealth, states and territories retain responsibility for regulating and enforcing work health and safety laws in their jurisdiction.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Safe Work Australia Act 2008

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 7, New Acton Nishi, 2 Phillip Law St
    Canberra ACT 2601

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Joanne Farrell 1 February 2022 31 January 2025
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Ms. Michelle Baxter 1 November 2021 31 October 2023
Member Ms. Tracey Browne 3 December 2021 2 December 2024
Member Mr. Colin Radford 10 March 2020 9 March 2023
Member Ms. Natasha Mann 11 March 2022 10 March 2025
Member Ms Jody Anderson 1 January 2020 31 December 2023
Member Mr. William Esteves 11 November 2020 10 November 2023
Member Ms. Robyn Pearce 25 March 2021 24 March 2024
Member Mr. Martyn Campbell 2 May 2021 1 May 2024
Member Mr. Michael Young 13 September 2021 12 September 2024
Member Dr. Deborah Vallance 20 September 2021 19 September 2024
Last updated: