Safe Work Australia

Employment and Workplace Relations
Safe Work Australia is a tripartite body with the following members: - a Chair; - Members representing the Commonwealth and each state and territory; - Members representing the interests of workers; - Members representing the interests of employers, and - the Chief Executive Officer. Further information about Safe Work Australia Members can be found under the 'Our Members' page on our website. Safe Work Australia was established to lead policy development that improves work health and safety and workers' compensation arrangements across Australia. It performs its functions in accordance with strategic and operational plans agreed annually by Work Health and Safety Ministers. Safe Work Australia began operating as an independent Australian Government statutory agency on 1 November 2009. It is jointly funded by the Commonwealth, state and territory governments through an Intergovernmental Agreement. As a national policy body Safe Work Australia does not regulate work health and safety laws nor does it have responsibility for workers' compensation schemes. The Commonwealth, states and territories have responsibility for regulating and enforcing work health and safety laws and administering workers' compensation schemes in their jurisdiction.

Key People

Further information

  • Type of Body

    A. Non-corporate Commonwealth entity

  • GFS Sector Classification


  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Safe Work Australia Act 2008

  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    A. Primary body

  • GFS Function / Sector Reported


  • Materiality


  • PS Act Body

    Yes - Statutory Agency

  • Auditor


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    GPO Box 641 ACT 2601

Current single executive appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chief Executive Officer Ms. Marie Boland 1 November 2023 31 October 2028

Government appointed boards

Last updated: