Australian-American Fulbright Commission

The Australian-American Educational Foundation (now the Australian-American Fulbright Commission) was established when the Fulbright program (which was established under the bi-national treaty between the governments of Australia and the United States under the Australian Treaty Series 1949 No. 14) was reviewed in 1964 under a revised treaty (Australian Treaty Series 1964 No. 15). The Australian-American Fulbright Commission is governed by a board of directors composed of five Australians, appointed by the Minister for Education and Training under delegated authority of the Australian Prime Minister, and five Americans, appointed by the U.S. Ambassador to Australia. The Prime Minister and the Ambassador serve as joint honorary co-chairs of the commission, while the board of directors elects its chairperson each year from its members. The Fulbright Commission office is based in Canberra and is administered by the commission staff.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    H. Inter Jurisdictional and International Bodies

  • Established By / Under

    International Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Treaty Series 1964 No. 15 (originally established under Australian Treaty Series 1949 No. 14)

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Auditor Other


  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 1, 6 Napier Close
    DEAKIN ACT 2600

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Prof. Brian P. Schmidt AC, FAA, FRS 2 March 2024 1 March 2027
Other Prime Minister The Hon. Anthony Albanese MP 23 May 2022 Determined by the appointer
Member Ms. Karen Sandercock 7 April 2017 Determined by the appointer
Member Cameron Archer 22 September 2022 Determined by the appointer
Member Mr. Dennis Richardson AO 29 February 2024 23 February 2027
Member Prof. Carolyn Evans 9 February 2024 8 February 2027
Last updated: