Royal Australian Air Force Veterans' Residences Trust Fund (Board)

RAAF Veterans' Residences Trust was established by a for the purpose of providing residences for former members of the Air Force and their families who are in necessitous circumstances. The capital of the Trust was created from a prize captured by Commonwealth Air Forces during World War II. The Air Force share of the prize money amounted to $458,000. Over the years, this money has been invested and applied to obtain 76 residences throughout Australia. They are located in: Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide and Hobart. The residences generally comprises a one or two-bedroom unfurnished but self-contained unit.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Royal Australian Air Force Veterans’ Residences Act 1953

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Ground Floor Building L474, Thorn Circle, RAAF Williams

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. David E Tindal AM 12 February 2007 Determined by the appointer
Director/Non-Executive Director Mr. Peter L Finkelstein RFD LLB 5 September 1995 Determined by the appointer
Director/Non-Executive Director WGCDR Michelle Oakden 10 March 2011 Determined by the appointer
Director/Non-Executive Director WGCDR Michelle McPhail 27 March 2020 Determined by the appointer
Last updated: