On 15 December 2014, the Government announced in the Ministerial Paper Smaller Government - Towards a Sustainable Future that the Seafarers' Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority will be merged into the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission. On the 13 October 2016 the Seafarers and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2016 was tabled in parliament that amends the original Smaller Government decision by merging the Seafarers Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority (Seacare Authority) with the Commonwealth workers’ compensation scheme (Comcare scheme).
Seafarers Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority - otherwise known as the Seacare Authority, comprises an independent Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority, two employer representatives and two employee representatives. The Seacare Authority oversees a scheme of occupational health and safety (OHS), rehabilitation and workers' compensation arrangements which applies to defined seafaring employees and, in relation to OHS, defined third parties.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    PGPA Rule (Schedule 1)

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    15 June 1993

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Barry Sherriff 26 July 2018 21 October 2020
Deputy Chair Ms. Sue Weston 10 October 2019 9 October 2024
Other Mr. Jamie Newlyn 28 November 2017 6 September 2020
Other Mr. Jarrod Moran 17 January 2019 13 January 2022
Other Ms Teresa Lloyd 15 October 2019 3 August 2020
Other VACANT    
Other VACANT    
Member Ms. Penny McCall Howard 7 September 2017 6 September 2020
Member Mr. Nathan Niven 14 January 2019 13 January 2022
Member Mr. Dale Emmerton 4 August 2017 3 August 2020
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Last updated: