The Productivity Commission (the Commission) is the Australian Government's independent research and advisory body on a range of economic, social and environmental issues affecting the welfare of Australians. Its role, expressed simply, is to help governments make better policies in the long term interest of the Australian community. As its name implies, the Commission's focus is on ways of achieving a more productive economy - the key to higher living standards. As an advisory body, its influence depends on the power of its arguments and the efficacy of its public processes.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Productivity Commission Act 1998

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    16 April 1998

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Michael Brennan 11 September 2018 10 September 2023
Deputy Chair VACANT    
Member Dr. Malcolm Roberts 1 May 2019 30 April 2024
Member Mr. Paul Lindwall 1 May 2019 30 April 2024
Member Prof. Stephen King 1 January 2022 31 December 2027
Member Ms. Julie Abramson 10 December 2020 9 December 2025
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Mr. Romlie Mokak 25 March 2019 24 March 2024
Member VACANT    
Member Prof. Jane Doolan 8 December 2021 7 March 2022
Member Ms. Elizabeth Gropp 1 May 2019 30 April 2024
Member Dr. Catherine de Fontenay 1 July 2019 30 June 2024
Last updated: