Board of Taxation

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body charged with contributing a business and broader community perspective to improving the design of taxation laws and their operation. The Board is tasked with advising the Treasurer on improving the general integrity and functioning of the taxation system and commissioning research and other studies on tax matters approved or referred to it by the Treasurer. The Board currently comprises of 11 members, eight of whom have been appointed from the non-government sector. There are three ex officio members - the Secretary to the Australian Treasury, the Commissioner of Taxation and the First Parliamentary Counsel. The Board will be supported by a secretariat provided by the Treasury, but may engage private sector consultants to assist it with its tasks.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    F. Non-statutory advisory structure

  • Established By / Under

    Principal Body / Management Board / Senior Executive Officer

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    C. Secondary non-statutory structure

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    C/- The Treasury; Langton Crescent
    Parkes ACT 2600

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Rosheen Garnon 26 June 2023 25 March 2026
Other Dr. Steven Kennedy PSM 2 September 2019 1 September 2099
Other Mr. Rob Heferen 1 March 2024 28 February 2031
Other Ms Meredith Leigh 8 February 2021 1 January 2099
Member Mr. Andrew Mills 8 December 2023 7 December 2026
Member Mr. Ian Kellock 12 May 2024 11 August 2024
Member Ms. Judy O'Connell 8 December 2023 7 December 2026
Member Dr. Julianne Jaques KC 8 December 2023 30 September 2025
Member Ms. Andrea Laing 21 October 2021 20 October 2024
Last updated: