The Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation (ARPC) is a statutory authority established under the Terrorism Insurance Act 2003 (TI Act), being subject also to requirements under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (prior to 1 July 2014, the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997). Following the terrorist events that occurred in the United States of America on 11 September 2001, there was a global withdrawal of terrorism insurance. This was of particular concern to the commercial property sector internationally. The Government was concerned that the lack of comprehensive insurance cover for commercial property or infrastructure would lead to a reduction in financing and investment in the Australian property sector. The role of the ARPC was to establish and subsequently provide ongoing administration of a scheme that would provide (re)insurance cover for eligible terrorism losses involving commercial property, associated business interruption and public liability.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Terrorism Insurance Act 2003

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    24 June 2003

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Ian Carson 1 July 2020 30 June 2023
Member Ms. Elaine Collins 1 July 2021 30 June 2024
Member Ms. Julie-Anne Schafer 14 September 2021 13 September 2024
Member Member Mr. David Foster 16 December 2021 15 December 2024
Member Ms. Robin Low 23 April 2020 22 April 2023
Member Ms. Maria Fernandez 23 April 2020 22 April 2023
Member Mr. Jan van der Schalk 1 July 2021 30 June 2024
Last updated: