Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (Board)

The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) is the prudential regulator of the Australian financial services industry. It oversees banks, credit unions, building societies, general insurance and reinsurance companies, life insurance, friendly societies, and most of the superannuation industry. APRA is funded largely by the industries that it supervises. It was established on 1 July 1998. APRA currently supervises institutions holding $4.5 trillion in assets for Australian depositors, policyholders and superannuation fund members.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Prudential Regulation Authority Act 1998

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 26, 400 George St
    Sydney NSW 2000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. John Lonsdale PSM 31 October 2022 30 October 2027
Deputy Chair VACANT
Deputy Chair Ms. Margaret Cole 31 October 2022 30 June 2026
Member Ms. Suzanne Smith 31 October 2022 30 October 2027
Member Ms. Therese McCarthy Hockey 31 October 2022 30 October 2027
Last updated: