The Australian Energy Regulator regulates the electricity and gas industries, setting prices for using energy networks (electricity poles and wires and gas pipelines) to transport energy, and monitoring the wholesale electricity and gas markets to ensure suppliers comply with the National Electricity Law and Rules and the National Gas Law and Rules. The AER also regulates and monitors retail energy markets and enforces the National Energy Retail Law and the National Energy Retail Rules in SA, NSW, ACT and Tasmania. The AER Board has three members appointed by the Governor-General: one Commonwealth member, who must also be a member of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC), and two State and/or Territory members (sections 44AM-44AS of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010). The AER has an independent Board, with its staff, resources and facilities provided by the ACCC.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Competition and Consumer Act 2010

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    23 May 2005

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Clare Savage 14 October 2019 13 October 2024
Deputy Chair Mr. James Cox PSM 26 June 2020 25 June 2022
Member VACANT    
Member Mr. Eric Groom PSM 3 February 2020 2 February 2025
Member Mr. Justin Oliver 3 February 2020 2 February 2025
Member Ms. Catriona LOWE 3 February 2020 2 February 2025
Last updated: