Prime Minister and Cabinet
The Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House's strategic vision is to be bold, relevant, dynamic and authentic by: - Being a catalyst for uncensored conversations - Empowering and engaging communities - Being a welcoming and vibrant meeting place - A sustainable and thriving future Through its exhibitions and education programs, the Museum enables audiences to enjoy, appreciate and understand the role of democracy in the history and future of Australia. In addition, the Museum conserves, interprets and provides access to the significant heritage-listed Old Parliament House building for future generations. Old Parliament House was the home of Australia's Federal Parliament from 1927 to 1988 and is an icon of outstanding national significance, symbolising a key period in the democratic history of Australia.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Executive Agency, under Section 65 Public Service Act 1999

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

    1 July 2008

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair The Hon. Nick Minchin AO 29 May 2020 28 May 2023
Deputy Chair Mr. Bernard Wright AO 9 December 2019 8 December 2022
Member Ms. Cheryl Cartwright 2 February 2021 1 February 2024
Member Ms. Lenda Oshalem 7 July 2021 6 July 2024
Member Mr. Gerard Wheeler 7 July 2021 6 July 2024
Member Ms. Maria Myers AC 8 April 2019 7 April 2022
Member Ms. Gai Brodtmann 29 May 2020 28 May 2023
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Ms. Daryl Karp AM 2 April 2018 1 April 2023
Last updated: