National Transport Commission (Board)

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The National Transport Commission (NTC) performs the role of an expert adviser to the Transport and Infrastructure Council on national regulatory reform development, implementation and evaluation in the Australian land transport sector, principally in respect of the national regulators for heavy vehicles and rail safety. The Council, a ministerial council formed by the Council of Australian Governments, is responsible for the NTC, as an inter-jurisdictional transport body covered by an IGA. The Commonwealth is the host jurisdiction for the NTC.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    National Transport Commission Act 2003, section 5 pursuant to the Intergovernmental Agreement for Regulatory and Operational Reform in Road, Rail and Intermodal Transport 2003

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 15, 628 Bourke Street
    Melbourne VIC 3000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Carolyn Walsh 1 January 2020 31 December 2023
Deputy Chair VACANT
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Mr. Michael Hopkins 10 July 2023 9 July 2028
Member Jim Betts 29 September 2022 28 September 2025
Member Ms. Carolyn Walsh 1 January 2021 31 December 2023
Member Mr. Neil Scales OBE 1 January 2021 31 December 2023
Last updated: