Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The Australian Government's Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation provides advice to the Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts; and the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications. The Committee advises on policy and program issues, specifically related to the Indigenous Repatriation Program which supports the repatriation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander ancestors held overseas; and domestically, the repatriation of both ancestors and secret sacred objects held in eight major Australian Museums. Members advise on ancestors and secret sacred objects that have limited provenance and no identified community of origin; repatriation matters that affect all or many communities (as each community advises on its own cultural protocols); and other relevant matters. Members of the all-Indigenous Committee are appointed based on their understanding of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander culture and traditions; and have experience in Indigenous repatriation and/or cultural heritage work. Members do not represent their local Nation or language group; employer; organisation; or state or territory of origin or residence. The six-member committee includes a male and a female Co-Chair and four members of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander descent (with at least one Torres Strait Islander representative).

Further information

  • Type of Body

    F. Non-statutory advisory structure

  • Established By / Under


  • Established By/Under More info

    Indigenous Repatriation Policy 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    C. Secondary non-statutory structure

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Christine Grant 8 September 2023 7 September 2026
Chair Mr Phillip Gordon 8 September 2023 7 September 2026
Member Ms. Tania Donovan 15 December 2023 14 December 2026
Member Dr. Jilda Andrews 20 August 2021 19 August 2024
Last updated: