Australian Broadcasting Corporation (Board)

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The ABC is a national (publicly funded) broadcaster, providing news, current affairs and entertainment programming on television, radio and digital services across Australia. The ABC's principal function is to provide content which informs, educates and entertains all Australians, contributes to a sense of national identity and reflects the cultural diversity of the Australian community. The ABC is also required under its charter to provide an international broadcasting service to encourage an awareness of Australian news and attitudes overseas. In addition, the ABC has a role in promoting the performing arts in Australia. The ABC Board is responsible for ensuring the proper and efficient performance of the ABC’s functions.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Broadcasting Corporation Act 1983

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    700 Harris Street
    Ultimo NSW 2007

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Ita Buttrose AC OBE 7 March 2019 6 March 2024
Deputy Chair Mr. Peter Tonagh 11 November 2021 12 May 2026
Other Mr. Laura Tingle 1 May 2023 30 April 2028
Director/Non-Executive Director Louise McElvogue 16 October 2023 15 October 2028
Director/Non-Executive Director Ms. Georgina Somerset AM 23 February 2022 22 February 2027
Director/Non-Executive Director Mr. Peter Lewis 2 October 2019 1 October 2024
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Mr. David Anderson 3 May 2019 2 May 2024
Director/Non-Executive Director Mr. Peter Tonagh 13 May 2021 12 May 2026
Director/Non-Executive Director Mr. Settimio (Mario) D'Orazio 13 May 2021 12 May 2026
Director/Non-Executive Director Ms. Nicolette Maury 16 October 2023 15 October 2028
Last updated: