Please note that the content on this website is being progressively updated following the issuing of Administrative Arrangements Orders on 23 June, 2022.


National Library of Australia (Board)

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The role of the National Library of Australia is to ensure that documentary resources of national significance relating to Australia and the Australian people, as well as significant non-Australian library materials, are collected, preserved and made accessible either through the Library itself or through collaborative arrangements with other libraries and information providers. By offering a strong national focus and cooperating with others who share our goals, the Library supports learning, creative and intellectual endeavour, and contributes to the continuing vitality of Australia's diverse culture and heritage.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    National Library Act 1960

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Parkes Place
    Canberra ACT 2600

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair The Hon Dr. Brett Mason 9 August 2018 8 August 2024
Deputy Chair Ms. Janet Hirst 5 May 2022 4 May 2025
Member Mr. Shane Simpson AM 21 March 2022 20 March 2025
Member Dr. Bennie Ng 4 April 2022 3 April 2025
Member Ms. Alice Wong 5 May 2022 4 May 2025
Member Mr. Douglas Snedden 5 May 2022 4 May 2025
Member Ms. Rosalie Rotolo-Hassan 4 April 2022 3 April 2025
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Dr. Marie-Louise Ayres 2 March 2022 1 March 2027
Member Mr. Richard Thomas Price 25 July 2022 24 July 2025
Member Mr. James Stevens MP 9 February 2022 8 February 2025
Member Prof. Donald Markwell 28 May 2020 27 May 2023
Last updated: