Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
The Norfolk Island Supreme Court is the superior court of record for the Territory of Norfolk Island. It is constituted by a Chief Justice and such other Judges as are appointed by the Governor-General under the Norfolk Island Act 1979 (Cth).

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Norfolk Island Act 1979

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

    7 August 1979

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Other The Hon Justice Michael Andrew Wigney SC 15 June 2017 3 September 2034
Other The Hon Justice Anthony James Besanko QC 5 August 2013 7 May 2024
Other The Hon Justice Steven David Rares 6 December 2018 Determined by the appointer

Current single executive appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Magistrate and Chief Magistrate of the Court of Petty Sessions of Norfolk Island Ms. Wendy Cull 10 November 2017 5 June 2022
Last updated: