Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
In the ACT, Special Magistrates are appointed under the Magistrates Court Act 1930. Although the Jervis Bay Territory (JBT) is not geographically a part of the ACT, the laws of the ACT apply to JBT by virtue of the Jervis Bay Territory Acceptance Act 1915. Each court of the ACT has jurisdiction in and in relation to JBT as if it formed part of the ACT. The Commanding Officer of HMAS Creswell has traditionally been appointed as a Special Magistrate for the JBT.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    International Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    The Board was established in 1989 under a Memorandum of Understanding between the Commonwealth and the Norfolk Island Government

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    21 March 1953

Current single executive appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Special Magistrate for the Jervis Bay Territory Captain Warren Bairstow 28 July 2020 27 July 2023
Last updated: