Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
The Classification Board is an independent statutory authority established under the National Classification Scheme, a legislated co-operative arrangement created 1 January 1996 between the Australian, state and territory governments that provides a national approach to classification. The board is responsible for classification decisions concerning films, computer games and publications. Principles for decision-making are set out in the National Classification Code. Separate guidelines for the classification of films, computer games and publications are established under the Scheme. The board comprises of a director, a deputy director, other board members and temporary board members.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Act 1995

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

    1 January 1996

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair VACANT    
Deputy Chair VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Ms. Rachel Merton 4 April 2019 3 April 2022
Member Mr. Thomas Mann 4 April 2019 3 April 2022
Member Ms. Ellenor Nixon 4 April 2019 3 April 2022
Member VACANT    
Last updated: