Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
The Australian Government's Policy on Indigenous Repatriation provides the all-Indigenous Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation (the Committee), to provide advice to the Minister for the Arts and the Department of Communications and the Arts on: policy and program issues related to Indigenous repatriation from Australian and overseas collections; the repatriation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander ancestral remains and secret sacred objects that have limited provenance and no identified community of origin; repatriation matters that affect all or many communities (as each community advises in its own cultural protocols for ancestral remains); and other relevant matters. Members of the Committee are appointed based on their understanding of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander culture and traditions; and have experience in Indigenous repatriation and/or cultural heritage work. Members do not represent their local Nation or language group; employer; organisation; or state or territory of origin or residence. The six-member committee includes a male and a female Co-Chair and four members of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander descent (with at least one Torres Strait Islander representative).

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Established By/Under More info

    Indigenous Repatriation Policy 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    21 March 2012

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr Phillip Gordon 8 September 2020 7 September 2023
Chair Ms Christine Grant 8 September 2020 7 September 2023
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Ms. Jill Gallagher AO 11 November 2020 10 November 2023
Member VACANT    
Last updated: