Please note that the content on this website is being progressively updated following the issuing of Administrative Arrangements Orders on 23 June, 2022.


eSafety Commissioner

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts
The Enhancing Online Safety for Children Act 2015 to establish the Children's eSafety Commissioner (CeSC) commenced on 1 July 2015. The Enhancing Online Safety for Children Amendment Act 2017 passed Parliament and came into effect on 23 June 2017. A subsequent change in remit expanded the Commissioner’s role to promotion of online safety for all Australians and not just children. This led to the establishing legislation being renamed the Enhancing Online Safety Act 2015, and the Children’s eSafety Commissioner becoming the eSafety Commissioner. In June 2021 the Australian Government enacted new legislation, the Online Safety Act 2021, which came into effect on 23 January 2022. The Online Safety Act gives the eSafety Commissioner new and strengthened powers to help protect all Australians from the most serious forms of online harm and keep pace with changes in the digital landscape. The eSafety Commissioner is an independent statutory office supported by the Australian Communications and Media Authority.’

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Enhancing Online Safety Act 2015

  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Benjamin Offices, Chan Street
    Belconnen ACT 2617

Current single executive appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Commissioner Ms. Julie Inman Grant 16 January 2022 15 January 2027
Last updated: