Following the 2022 Federal Election outcome an interim Ministry has now been sworn in and the caretaker period has ceased. Further updates to this website will be made in due course.


Australian Communications and Media Authority (Board)

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) is the independent statutory authority tasked with ensuring most elements of Australia's media and communications legislation, related regulations, and numerous derived standards and codes of practice operate effectively and efficiently, and in the public interest. The ACMA is also a 'converged' regulator, created to bring together the threads of the evolving communications universe, specifically in the Australian context the convergence of the four 'worlds' of telecommunications, broadcasting, radio communications and the internet. Congruent with its converged nature, the ACMA bridges a diverse collection of legislated objectives. The agency has responsibilities under four principal acts: the Radio communications Act, the Telecommunications Act, the Telecommunications (Consumer Protection and Service Standards) Act and the Broadcasting Services Act. There are another 22 Acts to which the agency responds in areas such as spam, the Do Not Call Register, and interactive gambling.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Communications and Media Authority Act 2005

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 5, The Bay Centre, 65 Pirrama Road
    Pyrmont NSW 2009

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Nerida O'Loughlin PSM 14 October 2017 13 October 2022
Deputy Chair Ms. Creina Chapman 11 June 2018 10 June 2023
Member Ms. Delia Rickard 4 April 2019 3 April 2024
Member Mr. Chris Jose 1 May 2018 30 April 2023
Member Ms. Fiona Cameron 23 July 2018 22 July 2023
Member Ms. Anita Jacoby 5 August 2018 4 August 2023
Member Ms. Anna Brakey 6 May 2021 5 May 2026
Member Mr. James Cameron 5 August 2021 4 August 2023
Last updated: