Industry, Science, Energy and Resources
Questacon – The National Science and Technology Centre (Questacon) operates as a national cultural institution and specialist division of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science. From this position within the Australian Government, Questacon’s remit is to facilitate science engagement and awareness activities for the Australian community at a national level. The role of the Advisory Council is to: 1. Serve as a source of independent advice to the Director of Questacon (and through them, the department and Portfolio Ministers); 2. Provide advice and information in relation to areas of speciality (for example science or research, fundraising or business development); 3. Raise the profile of and build the brand of Questacon; and 4. Engage with stakeholders and advocate for the work of Questacon. Members of the Questacon Advisory Council (QAC) are approved by the Prime Minister with appointments made formally by the Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology. The QAC comprises a Chair, the Questacon director and additional members. While there is no limit to the number of members the QAC membership typically varies from 7-11 members.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    23 November 1988

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Leon Kempler AM 23 September 2019 22 September 2022
Deputy Chair Mr. Eddie Kutner 2 August 2019 1 August 2022
Other Prof. Graham Durant AM 31 March 2003 Determined by the appointer
Member Associate Professor Prof. Alan Duffy 20 September 2019 19 September 2022
Member Dr. Gregory Clark AC 6 May 2019 5 May 2021
Member Ms. Lily Serna 2 August 2019 1 August 2022
Member Dr. Ken Dutton-Regester 2 August 2019 1 August 2022
Member Ms Jane Urquhart 23 November 2017 Determined by the appointer
Member Prof. Elanor Huntington 7 March 2019 6 March 2021
Member Ms. Jamila Gordon 7 March 2019 6 March 2021
Last updated: