National Operating Committee on Jet Fuel Assurance

Industry, Science and Resources
The Australian Government established the National Operating Committee on Jet Fuel Supply Assurance (NOC) following a jet fuel supply disruption at Sydney Airport in September 2003. It was created to provide the Government with assurance that the risk of a similar disruption would be minimised in the future. The NOC is comprised of jet fuel supply representatives from major oil companies and an Independent Person (IP).The NOC Chair position is filled by the four oil companies on a rotating basis every six months. The focus of NOC activities are eight major Australian airports (Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Darwin, Hobart and Cairns) and three overseas airports (Auckland, Christchurch and Nadi) which were historically managed by Australian based fuel stakeholders. These airports are collectively termed as NOC Airports. The NOC Chair draws on information provided to it by the relevant Joint User Hydrant Installation (JUHI) managers, who have responsibility for regular fuel supply decisions including any fuel allocations during supply shortages at each airport, to compile a Jet Fuel Summary (traffic light) Report on NOC Airports for the coming six week period. The Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources are an observer to the NOC.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    Principal Body / Management Board / Senior Executive Officer

  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    GPO Box 2013
    Canberra ACT 2601

Last updated: