Industry, Science, Energy and Resources
The Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) is Australia's national nuclear research and development organisation, and the centre of Australian nuclear expertise. Its unique expertise is applied to radiopharmaceutical production, research into areas of national priority including health, materials engineering and water resource management and helping Australian industries solve complex problems. It also provides expert advice to Government on all matters relating to nuclear science, technology and engineering. ANSTO operates landmark national scientific facilities, including OPAL, Australia's only nuclear research reactor, and more recently the Australian Synchrotron, for the benefit of industry, the Australian research community and all Australians.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation Act 1987

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    2 July 1953

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair The Hon Justice Dr. Annabelle Claire Bennett AC SC 21 March 2019 20 March 2024
Deputy Chair Ms. Penelope Jane Dobson 24 April 2019 23 April 2024
Other VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Ms. Andrea Sutton 30 April 2020 29 April 2025
Member Prof. Stephen Buckman AM 23 July 2020 22 July 2023
Member VACANT    
Member Prof. Andrew Mark Scott 29 September 2016 28 September 2021
Member Dr. Gordon de Brouwer PSM 4 April 2019 3 April 2024
Last updated: