Industry, Science and Resources
Questacon - The National Science and Technology Centre (Questacon) operates as a national cultural institution and specialist division of the Department of Industry, Science and Resources. From this position within the Australian Government, Questacon facilitates science engagement and awareness activities for the Australian community at a national level. The role of the Questacon Advisory Council (QAC) is to: 1. Serve as a source of independent advice to the Director of Questacon (and through them, the department and Portfolio Ministers); 2. Provide advice and information in relation to areas of speciality (for example science or research, fundraising or business development); 3. Raise the profile of and build the brand of Questacon; and 4. Engage with stakeholders and advocate for the work of Questacon. The Chair of the Questacon Advisory Council is appointed by the Prime Minister based on advice from the Minister for Science and Technology. Members of the QAC are appointed by the Minister. The QAC comprises of a Chair, the Questacon Director and ex-officio members. While there is no limit to the number of members, the QAC membership typically varies from 7-11 members.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    King Edward Terrace
    Parkes ACT 2600

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Deputy Chair VACANT
Other Ms. Janean Richards 22 August 2022 31 October 2099
Member Prof. Elanor Huntington 18 March 2021 17 March 2024
Member Prof. Lisa Harvey-Smith 6 May 2021 5 May 2024
Last updated: