The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) has changed its name to Sport Australia. Sport Australia is Australia's primary national sports administration and advisory agency. Sport Australia is focused on getting more Australians participating and excelling in sport by: - delivering key programs in line with the Australian Government's sport policy objectives; - providing financial support and other assistance to national sporting organisations to encourage participation, deliver high performance results, and improve their capability, sustainability and effectiveness; and - building collaboration, alignment, and effectiveness within the Australian sport sector. The ASC is recognised as a world leader in encouraging participation in sport, and the development of high performance sports people. Services are provided in a range of fields including: - high performance coaching - sport sciences - sports information - sports management - facility management - education and resources - participation development - delivery of funding programs to national sporting organisations. Sport Australia is governed by a board of commissioners appointed by the Australian Government. The board determines Sport Australia overall direction, decides on the actual allocation of resources, develops policy for delegated decisions, and is accountable to the Minister of Sport and to Parliament.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Sports Commission Act 1989

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

    1 June 1985

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Josephine Sukkar AM 8 February 2021 7 February 2024
Deputy Chair Mr. Stephen Moneghetti 13 December 2018 12 December 2021
Member The Hon. Hugh Delahunty 4 May 2019 3 May 2022
Member Ms. Pippa Downes 13 December 2018 12 December 2021
Member Mr. Kurt Fearnley 13 December 2018 12 December 2021
Member Ms. Jennifer Morris 13 December 2018 12 December 2021
Member Dr. Brendan Murphy 1 July 2020 1 January 2099
Member Mr. Patrick Farmer 1 July 2020 30 June 2023
Member Mr. Andrew Ireland 13 December 2018 12 December 2021
Member Ms. Amanda Laing 13 December 2018 12 December 2021
Last updated: