Following the 2022 Federal Election outcome an interim Ministry has now been sworn in and the caretaker period has ceased. Further updates to this website will be made in due course.


Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency's (AHPRA) operations are governed by the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory (the National Law), which came into effect on 1 July 2010. This law means that for the first time in Australia, 14 health professions are regulated by nationally consistent legislation under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme. AHPRA supports the 14 National Boards that are responsible for regulating the health professions. The primary role of the National Boards is to protect the public and they set standards and policies that all registered health practitioners must meet. Each National Board has entered into a health profession agreement with AHPRA which sets out the fees payable by health practitioners, the annual budget of the National Board and the services provided by AHPRA. The Agency Management Committee is appointed by the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council in accordance with National Law. The Committee consists of at least 5 people including: A Chair who is not a registered health practitioner and has not been a health practitioner in the last 5 years ; at least 2 people with expertise in health and/or education and training ; at least 2 people with business or administrative expertise who are not current or previous registered health practitioners .

Further information

  • Type of Body

    K. National Law Bodies

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act as in force in each State and Territory

  • Classification

    C. Other

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 7 111 Bourke Street
    Melbourne VIC 3000

Last updated: