The Council of Australian Governments established the Commission to lead and coordinate national improvements in the safety and quality of health care. The Commission's role is to provide health ministers with strategic advice on best practices to improve safety and quality in the health system. The Commission develops and supports national safety and clinical standards, formulates and implements national accreditation schemes, and develops national health-related data sets. It is also working on reducing unwarranted variations in practice and outcomes for individuals and populations, and undertaking nationally coordinated action to address health care associated infections and antimicrobial resistance.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    National Health Reform Act 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    1 July 2006

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Prof. Villis Raymond Marshall AC 1 July 2017 31 March 2020
Member Dr. Veronica Casey 1 April 2019 31 March 2024
Member Dr. David Filby 29 July 2016 31 March 2021
Member Mr. Martin Bowles 29 July 2016 31 March 2020
Member Prof. John Walsh AM 29 July 2016 31 March 2021
Member Ms. Wendy Harris QC 29 July 2016 31 March 2020
Member Ms. Christine Gee 1 July 2018 31 March 2022
Member Dr. Helena Williams 1 April 2019 31 March 2024
Member Prof. Alison Kitson 1 July 2017 30 June 2019
Last updated: