Please note that the content on this website is being progressively updated following the issuing of Administrative Arrangements Orders on 23 June, 2022.


Australian Sports Commission

Health and Aged Care
The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is the Australian Government agency responsible for supporting and investing in sport. The ASC comprises: Sport Australia — responsible for driving the broader sport sector including providing financial support and other assistance to national sporting organisations (NSOs) to encourage participation and improve their capability, sustainability and effectiveness, delivering key programs in line with the Australian Government's sport policy objectives and building collaboration, alignment, and effectiveness within the Australian sport sector. Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) — leading our high-performance sport system by providing funding to NSO's to deliver high performance results. Services are provided in a range of fields including: high performance coaching, sport sciences, sports information, sports management, facility management, education and resources, participation development, delivery of funding programs to national sporting organisations. The ASC is governed by a board of commissioners appointed by the Minister for Sport. The board determines ASC's overall direction, decides on the actual allocation of resources, develops policy for delegated decisions, and is accountable to the Minister of Sport and to Parliament.


Key People

Further information

  • Type of Body

    B. Corporate Commonwealth Entity

  • GFS Sector Classification


  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Sports Commission Act 1989

  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    A. Principal

  • GFS Function / Sector Reported


  • Materiality


  • Auditor


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    PO Box 176, Belconnen ACT 2616

Current single executive appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chief Executive Officer Mr. Kieren Perkins OAM 14 March 2022 13 March 2026

Government appointed boards

Last updated: