Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (Board)

Health and Aged Care
The Council of Australian Governments established the Commission to lead and coordinate national improvements in the safety and quality of health care. The Commission's role is to provide health ministers with strategic advice on best practices to improve safety and quality in the health system. The Commission develops and supports national safety and clinical standards, formulates and implements national accreditation schemes, and develops national health-related data sets. It is also working on reducing unwarranted variations in practice and outcomes for individuals and populations, and undertaking nationally coordinated action to address health care associated infections and antimicrobial resistance.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    National Health Reform Act 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 5, 255 Elizabeth Street
    Sydney NSW 2000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Prof. Villis Marshall AC 17 July 2023 31 December 2023
Member Dr. Helena Williams 1 April 2019 31 March 2024
Member Prof. Christine Kilpatrick AO 17 July 2023 30 June 2026
Member Dr. David Filby 10 August 2021 31 March 2025
Member The Hon. Peter Mcclellan Justice 17 July 2023 30 June 2026
Member Prof. Anthony Lawler 10 August 2021 1 July 2025
Member Ms. Christine Gee 1 April 2022 31 March 2027
Member Kylie Ward 1 April 2022 31 March 2027
Member Dr. Hannah Seymour 1 April 2022 31 March 2025
Last updated: