Council on Australia Latin America Relations (COALAR)

Foreign Affairs and Trade
The Council on Australia Latin America Relations (COALAR) was established by the Australian Government in 2001 to enhance Australia's economic, political and social relations with Latin America. The advisory body forms part of the International Relations Grants Program (IRGP). The IRGP supports the Government's foreign and trade policies and projects a positive contemporary image of Australia. IRGP grants support professional, community and institutional linkages between Australia and its partners on contemporary issues of shared interest including the arts, media, education, business, science, technology and sport. The Council's objectives are: - To strengthen links between Australia and Latin America, particularly in the areas of mutual economic support (encompassing two way trade and investment), education and research, sporting culture and tourism, aligned closely with the policy of economic diplomacy. - To leverage COALAR's extensive network of business stakeholders to encourage closer engagement at a corporate level between Australia and Latin America. - To increase engagement with and understanding of Australia in Latin America and of Latin America in Australia. - To provide advice to government about opportunities that will enhance the Australia-Latin America relationship including tourism, education, visa arrangements, financial and taxation agreements and aviation policy.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    R G Casey Building John McEwen Crescent
    Barton ACT 0221

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Alberto Calderon Zuleta 31 August 2020 30 August 2023
Member Ms. Maria Christina Dardis Talacko 31 August 2020 30 August 2023
Member Ms. Alison Dell 14 February 2022 14 February 2025
Member Ms. Valeria Alvano Toloza 1 September 2021 30 August 2024
Member Sam Guthrie 10 December 2021 Determined by the appointer
Member Ms. Michelle Chan 23 August 2022 Determined by the appointer
Member Dr. Erin Watson-Lynn 1 November 2021 31 October 2024
Last updated: