Australia Pacific Security College (APSC)

Foreign Affairs and Trade
The 2017 Foreign Policy White Paper (White Paper) announced the Australia Pacific Security College (APSC) as an aid funded initiative, giving effect to a commitment that "Australia will expand its national security training and assistance in the Pacific to support the development of tailored responses to national security challenges". The APSC will be the only Australia-led training institution dedicated to the specific security needs of the Pacific and that will target Pacific security leaders across the full spectrum of Pacific security agencies and countries. The Advisory Board is not a Governing Board. Its purpose is to advise DFAT and APSC management on, and act as a sounding board for, those strategic matters most likely to strengthen APSC outcomes and impact; and to assist with the development and maintenance of trusted strategic relationships in the region. The Advisory Board is established by DFAT and operates at DFAT's sole discretion. The Advisory Board will provide high-level strategic oversight of the APSC including: - consideration of annual Work Plans and APSC priorities; and - strategic discussion of APSC support to implementation of the Boe Declaration.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    Principal Body / Management Board / Senior Executive Officer

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Air Chief Marshal (Retired) Mark Binskin AC (Retd) 5 December 2022 5 December 2025
Member Ross Ardern 5 December 2022 5 December 2025
Member Tuiloma Neroni Slade 5 December 2022 5 December 2025
Member Chair of the Marshall Islands Nuclear Commission Ms. Rhea Moss-Christian 5 December 2022 5 December 2025
Member Dr. Audrey Aumua 5 December 2022 5 December 2025
Last updated: