Foreign Affairs and Trade
The Australia-Japan Foundation (AJF) was, first established by the Australian Government in 1976 and, re-established in 2006 as an advisory body within the Department. Its purpose, to expand and develop contact and exchange between the peoples of Australia and Japan and to help project positive images of Australia and Japan in each other's country. Projects and programs supported by the Foundation help promote people-to-people engagement across a diverse range of sectors, including the arts, education, science and technology, sport, local government, community services and business. The advisory body forms part of the International Relations Grants Program (IRGP). The IRGP supports the Government's foreign and trade policies and projects a positive contemporary image of Australia. IRGP grants support professional, community and institutional linkages between Australia and its partners on contemporary issues of shared interest including the arts, media, education, business, science, technology and sport. The Foundation's annual work program focuses on activities which are aligned with its strategic objectives, which are to: - increase understanding in Japan of shared interests with Australia; - increase understanding in Australia of the importance of Japan to Australia as an economic and strategic partner; and - increase recognition in Japan of Australian excellence and expertise.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    International Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Executive Council Order

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    30 November 2006

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Murray McLean OAM 23 February 2017 23 February 2020
Member Mr. Chris Saines 22 March 2017 22 March 2020
Member Mr Mr. Gary Quinlan 1 July 2015 Determined by the appointer
Member Ms. Debra Hazelton 1 October 2015 1 October 2018
Member Mr. Peter Cleary 1 June 2015 1 June 2018
Member Prof. Veronica Taylor 1 July 2015 1 July 2018
Member Dr. Bronwyn Evans 1 June 2015 1 June 2018
Member Mr. Mark Connors 7 February 2017 7 February 2020
Last updated: