Foreign Affairs and Trade
Founded in 1989, the Australia-Indonesia Institute (AII) continues to develop relations between Australia and Indonesia by promoting greater mutual understanding of cultures and customs through a variety of programs and grant opportunities. The AII is part of the International Relations Grants Program (IRGP) that supports the Government's foreign and trade policies and projects a positive contemporary image of Australia. IRGP grants support professional, community and institutional linkages between Australia and its partners on issues of shared interest, including the arts, media, education, business, science, technology and sport. The AII's core activities include: • encouraging the study of the Indonesian language and culture in Australia and the English language and Australian culture in Indonesia, • enhancement of commercial and institutional linkages between Australia and Indonesia, • identifying possible cooperation opportunities in science and technology, • facilitation of media exchanges, and • sponsoring cultural and sporting exchanges and training. For further information, visit the AII website at

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    International Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Executive Council Order

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Auditor Other


  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    27 April 1989

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair VACANT    
Other Justin Hayhurst 23 June 2020 Determined by the appointer
Member Prof. Nicholas Anstey 16 November 2020 16 November 2023
Member VACANT    
Member Ms. Noni Purnomo 16 November 2020 16 November 2023
Member Ms. Elena Williams 31 July 2021 30 July 2024
Member Ms. Lydia Santoso 6 October 2021 5 October 2024
Member VACANT    
Member Ms. Tracey Hayes 14 July 2021 13 July 2024
Last updated: