Parliamentary Retiring Allowances Trust

The Parliamentary Retiring Allowances Trust (the Trust) was established by section 5 of the Parliamentary Contributory Superannuation Act 1948 (the Act). The Act provides a contributory superannuation scheme for all parliamentarians who entered Parliament before 9 October 2004. The Trust has responsibility for matters where discretion has been given under the Act. The Trust consists of five trustees - the Minister for Finance (or a Minister authorised by the Minister for Finance) who is the presiding trustee, plus two Senators and two Members of the House of Representatives appointed by their respective Houses.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    J. Joint Ventures, Partnerships and Interests in Other Companies

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Parliamentary Contributory Superannuation Act 1948, section 5

  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    C. Other

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    To be confirmed
    To be confirmed ACT

Last updated: