Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Accountable Authority

Section 132 of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011 establishes the Commissioners as the accountable authority for the purposes of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (PGPA Act). This confers various responsibilities and powers on the accountable authority to promote high standards of accountability and performance. As the accountable authority, TEQSA Commissioners are responsible for the governance of TEQSA’s operations under the PGPA Act. Commissioners meet on a quarterly basis as the accountable authority to review performance against the corporate plan and received monthly reports on the assessment workload and financial performance. The appointment of Commissioners also includes their role as the accountable authority of TEQSA.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 14, 530 Collins Street Melbourne
    Melbourne VIC 3001

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chief Commissioner Ms. Adrienne Nieuwenhuis 11 May 2024 10 August 2024
Member Emeritus Prof. Joan Cooper 16 April 2024 15 April 2025
Member Mr. Stephen Somogyi 1 November 2021 31 October 2026
Last updated: